OREO Is Halal in the Middle East, North Africa, and Pakistan
OREO cookies are not halal.
News posted on
Social media users and media outlets alleged that OREO cookies are not halal.
Misbar investigated the circulating claim and found it to be selective.
In a tweet, the company clarified that OREO cookies made for the Middle East, North Africa, and Pakistan are halal and alcohol-free.
2019 Claims about OREO Resurface
The claim first circulated in 2019 when a Twitter user asked OREO's official Twitter account if OREO was halal.
The account replied to the question, "Thanks for reaching out! OREO cookies are not halal."
Since then, Muslims around the world have begun to raise questions about OREO's ingredients and whether they contain pork fat and alcohol or not.
The reply caused confusion among social media users, especially Muslims and Arabs around the world.
In another reply to a Twitter user, OREO's official account clarified that OREO cookies are not certified halal in the U.S. or Canada.
In February 2022, another Twitter user asked the same question, whether the cookies were halal or not.
The company explained that the OREO cookies they make for the Middle East, North Africa, and Pakistan are alcohol-free and compliant with Islamic Sharia dietary laws.
Mondelez Company Confirms Halal Production Policy
Mondelez International’s spokesperson confirmed that they respond to "different preferences around the world."
"Halal certification is managed through external agencies and their requirements vary by agency, country and/or government," the company explained on its website.
The spokesperson said that a subcontractor managed their Twitter account and that the reply tweeted was only intended for the American and Canadian markets.
Moreover, he stated that the OREO products marketed in the region were indeed halal and that they complied with the rules and regulations in effect locally.
This Is Not the First Time It Snows in Kuwait
This Photo Was Not Taken During the Recent Blizzard That Hit New York