` `

Almost All Beer is Plant-Based and Vegan

Rebecca Bowen Rebecca Bowen
Food & Beverages
27th April 2021
Almost All Beer is Plant-Based and Vegan
The base ingredients of beer are rye, wheat, barley, or oats (Getty Images)

The Claim

President Biden will force Americans to drink “plant-based beer” as part of the Green New Deal.

Emerging story

In an April 23rd segment on Fox Business Friday, former Trump economic advisor Larry Kudrow claimed that President Biden would ruin the 4th of July by requiring Americans to limit their red meat consumption. Kudrow also speculated that Biden would force Americans to drink “plant-based beer” while grilling brussel sprouts. Claims that President Biden intends to limit red meat for citizens are false, as Misbar previously analyzed. 

Numerous social media users mocked Kudlow’s comments on beer, including Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer.

A supporting image within the article body
A supporting image within the article body
A supporting image within the article body

Misbar’s Analysis

Misbar’s investigation revealed that all beer is “plant-based beer,” and Biden never made any statements about regulating it. The base ingredient of every beer is either rye, wheat, barley, or oats. The grains are germinated, sometimes roasted next, and then the hulls are removed from the grains. This product is now called the “grist” and is next combined with water and heated. While heating, sugar is created in the “wort” of the beer. The wort is drawn off the beer after heating it to 170 degrees Fahrenheit and hops are added. Hops are a product of the Humulus lupulus plant and gives beer its bitter flavor. 

Yeast is added to the wort and allowed to ferment with the sugary mixture. Beer has almost formed and the type of beer is dependent upon the temperature it is kept at. No meat or animal products are used. In fact, most beer is vegan and that includes Budweiser, Corona, Coors Light, and Heineken. The only time a beer is not vegan is if something called isinglass, made from fish bladder, or gelatin, which is made from boiling animal tendons, ligaments, and bones, is used in the process. This type of gelatin is also used in many gummy candies such as Gummy Bears.

Misbar’s Classification


Misbar’s Sources

Read More

Most Read